Moving to Australia-My Experience and Advice

Hey guys,

I follow a couple of people on social media that are moving to Australia and it’s been bringing back so memories for me about the daunting feelings but excitement of leaving Ireland. Today I thought write about my move to Australia and hopefully give people an insight into my experience and provide some advice and tips for anyone planning the move.

This is my personal story so obviously not everyone’s experiences  will be exact same  but most people will experience most of the feelings I’ve had since moving and also will share some of the experiences I’ve had too . Most of my time in Australia has been filled with adventure and opportunities. With everything comes the tough times too so my story will hopefully prepare you for those and make your experience so much more enjoyable.

IMG_1392 (1)

First off I would like to start by saying that if you’re thinking of making the move then just do it! You will have the trip of a lifetime. If leaving for a long time is not for you then you can always have the best holiday you’ve ever had and then be home in a day.

I’ve moved to Australia twice! Deciding to move to Australia the first time was actually a really easy decision for me. It was a time in Ireland that was nothing but doom and gloom and leaving college when the economy was so bad was disappointing. The prospects of travelling , having all these new experiences and of course warm weather was in my sights and sounded nothing short of amazing to me.

IMG_1390 (1)

I  really liked my job but I struggled to settle in Ireland after a J1  Summer in America. After a year of being back in Ireland many of my friends began to move to Australia. A couple of my friends and I decided to make the move ourselves  and the tickets were soon booked. It didn’t feel real for a very long time. I don’t think it felt real until the month we left.

Packing and preparing for the move was very daunting. I felt such a mix of emotions from scared feelings and worry, to excitement and happiness, to stress about packing and sad about my goodbyes to family and friends. The last month was also a really fun month because you’re catching up with everyone! You’ll go to so many dinners and drinks and you’ll probably have a going away party too.

Once you finally arrive you will probably feel extremely excited, a little warmer (lol) and possibly have another big wave of emotions like I did. It really was a rollercoaster! I personally found it hard to settle and struggled with homesickness in the beginning. My friends didn’t feel the same so it’s important to realise that everyone will experience homesickness at different stages and it’s ok to feel it in the beginning too. Everyone I know got passed these homesick feelings and come to realise that moving was the best choice they’ve ever made.

My advice if you’re thinking of moving to Australia or anywhere else would be that you need to be prepared! Preparation is key to avoid tough times. Make sure you save a lot of money to set yourself up with a flat-share or apartment. It may be difficult to find a job so having enough money to keep you going is really important. When you arrive set up the essentials like a bank account and sim card. This will help with apartment hunting, job search and also keeping in touch with home.

In my first year I lived in Melbourne, Sydney and in regional South Australia in a place called Waikerie. I had some amazing times and also experienced some of the toughest of my life. You grow up a lot living on the other side of the world, away from people and places that are familiar. You’ll be surprised that strangers will often be some of the kindest that you’ll ever meet. You’ll be shocked at how much you’ll grow as a person and you’ll become so much more independent.

IMG_1395 (1)

After finishing my regional work in November 2011 I flew home to Ireland. I was going through a tough time and I needed to go home, focus on myself and get ready to come back again. I don’t really remember much of that Christmas at all but I found work and settled back into life home again easily. I think I always knew that I’d go back to Australia because I didn’t feel like I had experienced all the things it had to offer. Australia is huge and so many opportunities are there if you embrace it.

Leaving for the second time was in some ways harder and in a lot of ways much easier. I knew what to expect and I was prepared. I knew I’d miss people a lot and that I’d have my homesick days but I was ready for opportunities. One of the biggest things this time was that I saved so much more for this trip.

IMG_1396 (1)

My boyfriend and I have settled in Melbourne. The biggest positive of moving to Australia is that it has opened so many doors for our careers.  We have found really great jobs and have learned so much in the last two years. Apart from this we have seen some of the most amazing places we’ll ever see and one of the best parts is that there is so much more out there that we still need to see!

In the last two years I’ve been to Sydney so many times. It’s a perfect weekend getaway because you have city life and so many beaches. I’ve also travelled to Tasmania and New Zealand on holidays. One of the best parts about living in Australia is that there’s so many things to see and do right on your doorstep.

IMG_1397 (1)

Immigrating has made me appreciate so many things in life and has taught me about what really matters. You may think you appreciate your friends and family now but I think once you leave you notice all the things you took for granted and you appreciate everything so much more. I think I’ve become so much closer to my family even though I live so far away.

Since moving I’ve met so many amazing people who I know will be friends for life. I’ve become so much stronger as a person because I’ve had to do so many things independently. My decision to move here is one of the best choices I’ve ever made.

IMG_1391

If you’re thinking about moving to another country or have any questions on moving to Australia comment below or email me. I’d also love to hear about your experiences if you’ve moved to another country.

I plan an doing a travel post every Thursday so you’ll know everything there is to know about moving to Australia, getting visas, getting jobs and travelling around too. Let me know what you’d like to hear about.

Louise xxx

13 thoughts on “Moving to Australia-My Experience and Advice

  1. Roisin says:

    Hi Louise,
    I stumbled across your blog today. Its just what I needed to read. I travelled to australia last christmas and loved the place. I’ve been in two minds since on whether to jump ship and leave. I have a good job in ireland and am worried of leaving it. Is it difficult to find work over there at the moment and do employers mind that you can only work for 6 mths? How did you organise your regional?

    Sorry so many questions

    Thanks
    Roisin

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Beyoutyfulyou says:

      Hi Roisin,
      Thanks so much for commenting. I can completely relate to the hard decision of leaving a good job but what pushed me was the chance to travel. I always thought if I don’t do it now, when am I going to do it?! It can be difficult depending on the time of year. You wouldn’t look for a permanent position and you would look for temp work. The good news is the recruitment industry is huge and there are tonnes of agencies to join up with. Once you’re in with an agency they will look after you. I got work through a particular agency 3 times which led on to my full time job! Regional can be hard to organise depending on the time of year. You’ll need to do your research on different fruit seasons and there’s also the option of traffic controlling in Darwin which i recommend because you’ll make a lot of money. Jobs are usually found on gumtree or through the Facebook pages I mentioned in my most recent post. If you google Murray River Queen, that’s where I worked and they always take people on. I recommend working for 6 months and then start to look for your regional. That way you’ve left yourself plenty of time to get it done. I hope this helps. I plan on doing a full post on getting a job next week. I really recommend coming here. It’s a great place to live. I hope this helps x

      Like

Leave a Reply

