Risotto with a Twist: Healthier Version

Hi Everyone!

If you’re new to my blog, I post a recipe every Friday. It’s usually something healthy and gluten free so if you’re interested in checking out my other recipes click here.

I love finding new and healthier ways of making my favourite dishes and Risotto is definitely one of mine. It’s a comfort food for me because it’s filling and creamy. I’m gluten intolerant so if I’m looking for creamy pasta, this is the next best thing.

This recipe tastes so so good and while it’s not technically a Risotto, it tastes the exact same to me. It has less carbs and less fat so this is a guilt free cheat meal in my book. Hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:

Serves 4

  • Olive Oil/Frylyte (whatever your preference)
  • 500g of Diced Chicken Breast
  • A red chilli chopped finely
  • 2 cloves of garlic finely chopped
  • 2 stalks of Fresh Rosemary-one finely chopped and one whole
  • 300g of Brown Rice
  • 600ml of Stock (I use a gluten free stock called Momos)
  • Handful of Chopped Brown Mushroom
  • 1 Diced Red Onion
  • 1 Diced Red Pepper (Capsicum for the Aussies!)
  • 150ml of light cream

Method:

Spray your chicken with oil and marinade with the chilli, garlic and chopped rosemary overnight or for as long as possible

When you’re ready to start cooking, put your rice in a pot with the stock

IMG_4481

While you bring this to the boil, fry your onion, pepper and mushroom until soft and then set aside

IMG_4480

In the same pan fry your marinaded chicken until it turns white

Add your vegetables and Cook for 5mins

IMG_4483

Add the cream and place on a low heat to simmer

IMG_4588 (1)

Once the rice is cooked add it to the pan and mix everything together

Serve 🙂

IMG_4587 (1)


My boyfriend and I love this Risotto and I hope you do too. If you try any of my recipes out I’d love for you to send me the pictures.

On snap chat? Come chat with me! Username: beyoutyfulyou 

Come say hi on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or Bloglovin

Louise xxx

 

 

5 thoughts on “Risotto with a Twist: Healthier Version

Leave a Reply

