First Impressions of Too Faced Born This Way Foundation on Dry Skin

I’ve recently been trying out a couple of samples of foundations that have been on my list to try for quite some time. It’s always a good idea to get a sample before you buy. Too Faced Born This Way  foundation has been raved about so much so I decided to see what all the fuss was about. If you’ve dry skin or get patches of dry skin then this will interest you. With samples I got I had enough to test it out for two weeks which is a decent amount of time to gather my thoughts and to decide if I’d buy the full size.

Product Claims:
‘Born This Way is an oil-free foundation that masterfully diffuses the line between makeup and skin. For coverage so undetectable, you can’t see the makeup and you can’t see imperfections—all that’s left is naturally radiant skin that looks like you were Born This Way.’
My Thoughts 
Shades:
So the shade range was a little confusing. They didn’t seem to go in order and the girl in the shop mentioned this too and because of this she gave me a couple of different samples to try out. If you’re mac NC15 or lighter  then you may have some issues getting a match with this one. All shades seemed to be more yellow to neutral shade based so if you’ve more of a pink tone you might also have trouble.
Packaging:
First impressions of the packaging is good. It feels luxurious, it looks pretty and it comes with a pump.
i-022129-born-this-way-foundation-light-beige-1-378
Application:
I played around with the application of this and it worked really well when first applied with my fingers and then buffed in with a beauty blender. A brush made the finish come off a bit streaky but fingers and beauty blender were perfect. Almost flawless!
Coverage:
The coverage is medium to full. It feels lightweight even though it has a high coverage. It covers any redness and blemishes I have. It is buildable and once all my makeup was applied I really liked the finished look in terms of the coverage.
The downside for me was that it showed up all my dry patches. If you’ve really dry skin I’d advise getting a sample first. I had patches around my nose that really showed up  which was a real shame considering how good it looked on the rest of my face. The picture below shows how it looked on the dry sections around my nose especially around my nostrils.
IMG_6248
Will I be buying this? Unfortunately no. The only reason for this is how it looks on my dry patches. I’ve heard people with normal and oily skin absolutely love this foundation but for me there was a big flaw which is a shame. This is how it looks overall on my skin which is still pretty nice but just not worth the money for me.
IMG_6249
If you’ve dry skin I’d love to hear what your favourite foundations are!

Come say hi to me on Snapchat username: beyoutyfulyou. You’ll see some sneak peaks into products I’m trying, loving and not loving as well as getting some cooking inspo and seeing what life is like in Melbourne.

Louise xxx

Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Bloglovin 

*Too Faced have released some new shades and there is a paler shade that’s on the pink side. This isn’t available in Australia at the time of posting this.

Picture of foundation bottle is from Mecca.com.au

8 thoughts on “First Impressions of Too Faced Born This Way Foundation on Dry Skin

Leave a Reply

